Through the Peephole

A tiny and slightly skewed view looking in …

Heading East Out of the Sun August 1, 2009

Filed under: General — Mandy @ 6:48 pm
Tags:

I made the solo trek from my home to my parents last night and, with the memories of a fairly eventful week behind me, had a few hours of incredible scenery and solitary thought to mull and muse over a lot of things. My delightful drive gave me the time to come to some new conclusions and to reinforce some pre-existing ones.

So here’s a list of things that have crossed my mind. Call it a week in review. Call it a life in review. But here it is:

  • I love my life. For better and for worse, I am so blessed in so many ways, and I’m set on doing more to be appreciative of it.
  • I really can’t find a dining deal better than Little Caesar’s Hot ‘n Ready pizzas. I’m willing to put up money for someone to try to do it. It can’t be done.
  • I’m am completely and totally where I want to be in my career. I don’t make much money & I don’t have much prestige, but I love my work and I realize more each day how much I enjoy working with college students.
  • My parents, my brothers and my Casey are my very best friends in the world, and I wouldn’t want it any other way.
  • Despite my affection & love for Bootzilla, I’m still totally a dog person. And even when I get a new dog, I will never stop missing Pavlov.
  • But I do love Bootzilla!
  • There are a number of bands/artists I could listen to everyday and never tire of them. The short list includes the Eagles, Randy Rogers Band, Ragweed, Sheryl Crow, Dolly Parton and Toad the Wet Sprocket. All timeless in my book.
  • It is possible to live without an Xbox 360. It’s just not as fun.
  • Exposed bone definitely does not equal cool.
  • Dusk is the best time to listen to any early Eagles tunes. Incidentally, this event can alleviate bad moods instantly for me.
  • I really need to become fluent in Spanish. Ahora.
  • I’m glad to be moving, but I hope to not be moving again anytime soon. I have every intention of settling into my new place for the long-haul.
  • My desire to drive to fast has greatly been alleviated with age. Or the plethora of tickets I’ve racked up. One of those.
  • At the end of the day, I want nothing more from life than to be a good person, to help someone if I can, and for the people I love to be happy. And a nice cold glass of Coke Zero. And maybe a banana.
  • I don’t like the majority of music that’s coming out right now … that goes for all genres. Call me a musical time warp, or just call me old. Either way, I don’t like it.
  • I have a number of friends that I don’t see or talk to much anymore. I miss them.
  • I’m actually kind of looking forward to fall this year. I still love summer, but it turns out fall ain’t so bad in these parts.
  • I see a lot of both of my parents in myself. That makes me very, very happy.
  • I’m totally a morning person.
  • Southern Missouri is very pretty. Texas will always be home to me, but each year I find myself feeling more and more at home right where I am.
  • I don’t know how I ever lived without a DVR.
  • I like molasses cookies.
  • I am worried for my country, but more than worried, I am frustrated & angry by my fellow Americans. I just have no idea what to do about it.
  • I really, really hate talking on the phone.
  • Hey Cow is the most fun road trip game ever.
  • I am happy.
 

3 Responses to “Heading East Out of the Sun”

  1. Brooke Says:

    My sweet Mandy,
    I miss you a ton already, but this makes me miss you even more. It makes me laugh, but mostly it just makes me miss you!

    Some comments from your favorite person (besides your fam and Casey):

    -Hey cow is awesome. Thanks for teaching me how to play way back when. 🙂
    -You are right about the DVR…and most other things in general…I said most, not all.
    -You are one awesome person and you should be happy, so I’m glad you are. You deserve it and I can’t tell you how grateful I am to have you in my life! 🙂

    Now some questions:
    -Where/why are you moving…again?
    -This hatred of the phone…does that include Skype? You never get on so I can see your face!

    Love you!

  2. Casey Seaman Says:

    This was a very good outline of who you are Mandyboo. I can see you in every point, but I didn’t see any line about your love for waffles. I need to get my hands on a compilation cd of the best of the Eagles!

  3. pavsmom Says:

    @Casey: I’m sorry. I also like waffles. Do you like waffles?

    @Brookie: Thanks for adding the “most, not all” qualifier there. Have you taken classes in PR or something? 🙂

    Long story on the move – made short: house sold, offer fell through, I was already prepped to move, so moving.

    My hatred of the phone does not, in fact, include Skype. It just turns out that I never have more than 4 consecutive minutes to display my face online, and I hate to be a tease. You are, however, right at the tippy top of that list of friends that I miss very much, given your status as the bestest and all. I’ll be better about logging onto Skype so we can chat. I love you and miss you!!


Leave a comment